Free Time

I love weekends. I love holidays. I just LOVE having absolutely nothing to do, if I don’t have to do anything at all.

Imagine going on a holiday without an itinerary, without a final destination. Its just free time for you to do what you will. This scene actually reminds me of the first part of the book “Eat, Pray, Love” and that scene really stuck to my mind.

The author was out on a self discovery, self healing journey (thus far, I haven’t actually finished the book yet), took some time off and went to the country she loved because she wanted to. She stayed there without an agenda, aside from learning the language of the country, she didn’t really set any goals to do anything else. I thought that was pleasurable. (which in fact was what she wanted to experience then)

Unfortunately every day is filled with the to-do-list nailed onto our walls, our laptops, our face…there’s always something to do. I suppose its fulfilling knowing you achieve something each day, even though you aren’t being graded by the things you do.

Each day that passes gives me a revelation and I’m glad that this year, being the pinnacle time of my life, (to me reaching the quarter of a century mark is extremely important, more than 16th, 18th and 21st birthdays). The wake up call was that hey, I’ve reached a quarter of a century and what have I done or experience so far? Did I enjoy the journey? Was it fun?

I didn’t think I’d be a billionaire right now but I know I’ll do well. (Think positively, it doesn’t hurt at all). I just wanted the satisfaction that I’m living a life. A life I love. Not set to the standards of the community and expectations of society. I want to just enjoy it and do everything to the best that I can do.

So, free time, empty time, nothing to do time – are actually the times that tells me what sort of person I am. Do I enjoy my solitude? Am I brave enough to do something different?

I love free time, and I hope I am able to share that pleasurable time with “you”.

Leave a Reply

