Life an adventure

There are things that I want to do, and things that I want to fulfill.

Now, i need to find a big bolt cutter to snap me out of the shackles I have on me.

Last night while chatting with my friend about the things I wrote above, he asked, “what’s stopping you from doing what you want to do?”

When I heard that I almost blurt out “That is easy for you to say since you have a flexible job.”

But is it really as easy as that? Because he has a flexible job, he could do whatever he likes? So the only thing shackling me down is really, my job?

Somehow I don’t think the answer would be as easy as that. I mean if I really want to travel, all I need to do is to earn the funds I need, QUIT my job (or get a sabbatical) and head off to my new adventure!

THAT can be done.

Then, I thought again and still feel the same uneasiness in me, can I really quit my job, leave everything behind and just go off on an adventure? Where do I go? Do I go alone? What do I do?

There isn’t a plan. Hang on, there IS a plan, I know where I want to go and what I want to do, so what is the problem, why am I giving myself so many excuses?

I tossed and turned last night, it took me almost an hour before sweet sleep took me. During my fight with wakefulness, I know, I’m actually just afraid.

Because I’m used to the shackles on me, it tells me that there isn’t really any need to go out and discover new places, new people, new things. I could just stay here, moon about my wandering dreams and not fulfilling it then, instead I could work, build my career, buy a house, provide for my family and there, that’s the end of it. ONLY then, I’ll go out and do what I want to do.

It would be too late.

The shackles have to go, and I really need to find that bolt cutter, because I know, the only thing stopping me :

is me.

3 thoughts on “Life an adventure

  1. If you do get to travel, share it with us! I’d love to know how it felt and how you let go of the shackles. I really hope you fulfill the things you want to do. 🙂 Godspeed

  2. Pingback: Shackles « Exploratory Introspections

Leave a Reply

