Sleepy Adventures

A few nights ago after having too much wine, food and chocolate my eyes involuntarily decided to close the shutters.

I appeared in a village that’s deep in the jungle. People were dressed in colourful clothes and feathers on their head or waist. They seem to speak in a different tongue, but as dreams goes, I understood it. And in a strange way, I’m a stranger and at the same time a part of the villager’s community.

What conspired after was a very important ceremony. Something needed to take place and somehow I was involved in a horrible deed that was treacherous to the people of the village. A man, who turns out to be my only supporter, ended up catching a terrible disease, or was poisoned. Also my fault, I can’t remember how – – I’m doing my best to recapture the adventure in my dream.

The people outside my temporary wooden abode were starting to get restless. They were angry and they needed to vent, shouting started and chaos ensued. The chief or the ring leader climbed up the bamboo ladder leading to the living room I’m in, my friend wasn’t looking too good as he sat beside me. The chief was not impressed. He gave an ultimatum, followed by a threat, images of a noose and many sharp pointy sticks conjured in my head. I had to solve the problem or give my life as a way of compensation.

It didn’t help that my friend is an important figure in the community and is in this situation…with me in the picture. Things were looking from bad to worse.

The chief left and I had to find a way to clear my name. A solution came strangely, by way of a floating dandelion stalk that landed on my table. Then a light so bright shone, I squinted my eyes to try and see. A person stood before me and spoke in the loveliest voice.

The being (I couldn’t tell the gender) advised me of the tasks I need to fulfill, the exotic ingredients I need to find, and the spirits I need to appeal to. All this leads to only one thing, the one thing that can save me, is to save my friend first.

Easy peasy.

The whole searching, finding, pleading and torment was shortened in my dream but I had no doubt I had almost a months worth of effort in it. Somehow I had favour from the spirits and beings in my dream, coincidences and sudden helping hands came to my aid. Soon, I had everything that was needed, and as dreams normally do I don’t need to journey back to my hut, instead a new scene appeared and I was in front of a giant black cauldron. Green fumes rose from the pot as everything was already added into it, some words were chanted and a wooden spoon was used to stir the concoction. I poured the liquid into a beaker (modern items seem to appear without my knowing, I never question it) and let it cool.

My friend was lying down on a mat and was feverish, he has taken a turn for worse and was sweating profusely. His lips were discoloured and he was mumbling a lot. I wasted no time and quickly fed him the elixir. I prayed with all my heart and with everything that is in me.

Another scene appeared after that and I was standing near a stage. I seem to be in the middle of a theatrical play and the village people were there but in modern clothes, the only ones with the colourful clothes and feathers were actors, entertainers and workers for the event.

My friend bounced next to me still in his traditional outfit, he smiled and said everything is back to normal, I did it!

I don’t know exactly what I did but it was all good. Everyone didn’t recognise me except for my friend, he held my hand as we walked and then…

I woke up.

2 thoughts on “Sleepy Adventures

Leave a Reply

