I’ve climbed Mount Kinabalu!

One of the top “things-to-do” that I have wanted to achieve since I was 18 has finally been cleared!

So glad that I’m starting to fulfill my life dreams one by one.

The climb up was not immensely difficult, though it was not a walk in the park either. I find the hardest part at the last 700 metres to the summit. I was at the verge of giving up so many times. My stomach was growling with accumulated gasses and hunger; the wind was blowing cold air into my exposed face, I was tired both physically and mentally.

I really wanted to give up. Imagine if I did! I would have kicked myself silly for stopping just 700 metres away!

The thing that helped and made a difference was the constant voice of encouragement by a friend. She held my hand at the toughest point and stopped with me when I felt low. Then she would say “Are we ok now? Ready to move on?”

Another friend would also say “Ok let’s move forward” And he would say it no matter how many times we stop.

By the time I reach the top, I was unable to catch the sunrise, but oh boy, was the view wondrous. I was just in awe that 4,095 metres above ground and we did it.

My feel good moment at the top 🙂

Leave a Reply

